Demonstrable Demographics

Finding a specific target audience is very important when a company is trying to “hail”. This has made companies a little bit more creative and competitive with their ads when reaching out to the audience. Some companies use the same approaches when hailing, and after reading a few of my classmate’s blogs I have come to find distinct similarities. We as consumers are greatly influenced by ads, whether we are consciously aware of it or not.

 

As I was reading a fellow classmates blog (http://whatthehailblog3.blogspot.ca/), I noticed a sentence that really caught my attention, which was; “The celebrity endorsements for many products and services in todays media has made it irresistible to brainwashed drones, such as myself, not to want whatever product is being thrown at us.” This made me laugh so hard because I find it very true to someone like me who is always consumed by pop culture. After reading that, I then came across Adelina’s blog (http://adelina23.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/what-the-hail/), which talks about rapper Drake endorsing EA sports FIFA ’14 in a commercial and also vice versa. This hailing technique works very well for both fans of FIFA and Drake. The ad basically leaves an impression in our heads that says “If you’re a fan of Drake you should get FIFA cause Drizzy loves it, and if you love FIFA you should grab Drake’s album.” Funny thing is I love them both and it gave me more reason to get both album and game on the release date. This unites both cultures together (music lovers and video game fan boys).

 

Young female teens are drawn to Covergirl simply because their favorite celebrities endorse it by being on the front cover of it. This company is fully aware of its target audience and is constantly trying to provide to the needs of the audience. Emma (http://brockbadger.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/what-the-hail/) talks about how Covergirl appeals to her with the use of Taylor Swift, whom she admires. This increases the chances of her and any Taylor Swift fan to purchase that issue just to find out more about everything Swift.

 

From what I’ve read so far, I can come to a quick conclusion that the use of celebrity to endorse a particular product or brand is a technique that works very well when targeting the right audience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment